VONA Faculty

Audience of people seated with papers in lap, some clapping


VONA faculty, accomplished artists in their field, facilitate rigorous and nurturing workshops. These writers of color have helped change the landscape of American literature in their writing and their teaching.

Among accomplished writers who have taught for VONA are

Chris Abani, Elmaz Abinader, Faith Adiele, Samiya Bashir, Staceyann Chin, Junot Díaz, Chitra Divakaruni, Tananarive Due, Kim Euell, Ruth Forman, M. Evelina Galang, Reyna Grande, Jessica Hagedorn, Suheir Hammad, Minal Hajratwala, Mat Johnson, Tayari Jones, Randall Kenan, Kiese Laymon, Marjorie Liu, David Mura, John Murillo, Beth Nguyen, Cherrie Moraga, Victor LaValle, Shay Youngblood, Willie Perdomo, Craig Santos Perez, Andrew X. Pham, Danzy Senna, Patricia Smith, and Quincy Troupe.